Spa Six Hours / 12-16 septembre 2018

Press release - Roadbook Organisation

09.09.2018
Spa Six Hours / 12-16 septembre 2018
Spa Six Hours / 12-16 septembre 2018

Spa Six Hours/12-16 September 2018

The Pure Historic Racingmeeting par excellence!

 

Undoubtedly the most prestigious meeting of the year on the Spa-Francorchamps circuit, entirely focussed on classic machines of all ages. For its 26thedition the Spa Six Hourswill more than ever be devoted to Racing, with a quite awesome programme, series amongst the more sought after in Europe, as also a handful of not to be missed innovations. 

Conversely to other more than respectable manifestations that are mainly based on parades,Spa Six Hoursis a meeting exclusively the domain of races for classic machines, Vincent Collard on behalf of Roadbook commented, organisers of an event that has been widely talked about for more than a quarter of a century. And this year, our intention was to place this Pure Historic Racingaspect even more in the limelight. Organising competitions in the field of cars of yesteryear is our speciality… “

Apart from the Spa Six Hours Endurancerace traditionally held on the Saturday between 16.00 and 22.00hrs, and bringing together a grid comprised out of 120 cars ranging from the Ford GT40 through to the MG B and including Jaguar E Type, Shelby Cobra, Ford Mustang, Lotus Elan or Porsche 911, the event held in mid-September will not only welcome the different competitions of the Mastersseries with the spectacular historic F1 single-seaters, the Sports Cars and the Touring cars, but also the more ‘modern’ Endurance Legends. This in addition to such top-rated disciplines as the Woodcote Trophy & Stirling Moss Trophy, the U2TC, the Formula Junior competition, the highly official Jaguar Classic Challenge, etc. 

More than ever for this 26thedition, the focus will be on the ‘Pre-War’ machines, and not only during the three days of racing. “In addition to the Historic Grand Prix Cars Association and the superb grid of single-seaters from the ’30s, ’40s and ’50s, we are delighted to welcome the Pre-War Sports Cars, Vincent Collard continued. However, our focus reaches further than merely the ‘race’ aspect, as in close collaboration with our partner, the FBVA, Fédération Belge des Véhicules Anciens, we decided to make Wednesday 12thSeptember a ‘Pre-War Day’, officially christened Pre-War @ Spa Six Hours. The idea is simple: owners of pre-war cars, either racing or road-going, will have the opportunity to cover – at their own pace – laps on the greatest circuit in the world! The aim is to ensure that this ‘Pre-War Day’ becomes widely accepted and part and parcel of the Spa Six Hours, with a Wednesday dedicated to the oldest of the golden oldies. Worth noting that the Pre-War Sports Cars will already be taking on a race on Friday 14thSeptember, over 40 minutes, with the start being given at 17.30hrs.”

More than ever the FBVA will be the privileged partner of these Spa Six Hours, with, beside Wednesday’s Pre-Warday, the Warm-Upon Thursday between 18.00 and 19.30hrs (track run for classic cars over 25 years), a P14 parking exclusively reserved for members and therefore classic machines, and the Maison FBVA traditionally set-up in the Salons de l’Eau Rouge throughout the entire weekend. 

It is also worth noting the presence in the Endurance Paddock of a Village Vintage, more than ever in harmony with the event.

Access to the Spa Six Hourswill set you back 35 euros for the entire weekend in pre-sale (45 euros on site), 20 euros for the Friday and the Sunday (25 euros on site) and 30 euros (35 euros on site) for the Saturday only, which boasts the Spa Six Hours Endurance

Enthusiasts and aficionados of classic machines, all you need do is to block your mid-September weekend – not forgetting the preceding days – with a view to heading on down to the greatest circuit in the world. Full details: www.spasixhours.com

Spa Six Hours / 12-16 septembre 2018

Communiqué de Roadbook Organisation

09.09.2018
Spa Six Hours / 12-16 septembre 2018
Spa Six Hours / 12-16 septembre 2018

 

Spa Six Hours / 12-16 septembre 2018

Le meeting Pure Historic Racingpar excellence !

 

Il s’agit à n’en pas douter d’un des rendez-vous les plus prestigieux de l’année sur le Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, intégralement consacré à la voiture ancienne. Pour sa 26èmeédition, Spa Six Hourssera plus que jamais axé Racing, avec un programme tout simplement royal, des séries comptant parmi les plus en vue en Europe, ainsi qu’une poignée de nouveautés incontournables. 

« A l’inverse d’autres manifestations plus que respectables qui reposent essentiellement sur des parades, Spa Six Hoursest un meeting exclusivement réservé à des courses pour voitures anciennes, explique Vincent Collard au nom de Roadbook, organisateur d’un événement qui défraie la chronique depuis plus d’un quart de siècle. Et cette année, nous avons souhaité mettre cet aspect Pure Historic Racingencore plus en évidence. Organiser des compétitions réservées aux bolides d’antan, c’est notre spécialité… »

Outre l’épreuve des Spa Six Hours Endurance, traditionnellement disputée le samedi entre 16 et 22 heures, et réunissant un plateau de 120 voitures allant de la Ford GT40 à la MG B en passant par les Jaguar E Type, Shelby Cobra, Ford Mustang, Lotus Elan ou Porsche 911, l’événement de la mi-septembre accueillera les différentes compétitions de la série Masters, avec les spectaculaires F1 historiques, les Sports Cars et les voitures de tourisme, mais aussi les ‘plus modernes’ Endurance Legends. En plus de disciplines aussi cotées que les Woodcote Trophy & Stirling Moss Trophy, le U2TC, la compétition de Formule Junior, le très officiel Jaguar Classic Challenge, etc. 

Plus que jamais pour cette 26èmeédition, l’accent sera mis sur les voitures d’avant-guerre, les ‘Pre-War’ pour les initiés, et pas seulement lors des trois jours de course. « En plus de l’Historic Grand Prix Cars Association et son superbe plateau de monoplaces des années ’30, ’40 et ’50, nous aurons le plaisir d’accueillir les Pre-War Sports Cars, poursuit Vincent Collard. Notre démarche va néanmoins bien au-delà de l’aspect ‘course’, puisqu’en étroite collaboration avec notre partenaire la FBVA, Fédération Belge des Véhicules Anciens, on a décidé de faire de la journée du mercredi 12 septembre un ‘Pre-War Day’, officiellement baptisé Pre-War @ Spa Six Hours. L’idée est simple : les propriétaires de voitures d’avant-guerre, de course comme de route, ont l’occasion de venir effectuer – à leur rythme – des tours sur le plus beau circuit du monde ! L’objectif est de faire en sorte que ce ‘Pre-War Day’ entre dans les mœurs et devienne une bonne habitude de Spa Six Hours, avec un mercredi consacré aux plus anciennes parmi les anciennes. Signalons par ailleurs que les Pre-War Sports Cars disputeront déjà une course dès le vendredi 14 septembre, sur 40 minutes, avec un départ donné à 17h30. »

Plus que jamais, la FBVA s’impose comme le partenaire privilégié de Spa Six Hours, avec, outre la journée Pre-Wardu mercredi, le Warm-Updu jeudi entre 18h00 et 19h30 (tours de piste pour les voitures de plus de 25 ans), un parking P14 exclusivement réservé aux membres et donc aux véhicules anciens, et une Maison FBVA toujours implantée dans les Salons de l’Eau Rouge d’un bout à l’autre du week-end. 

Signalons aussi la présence dans le Paddock Endurance d’un Village Vintage constituant une entité en tant que telle, avec un cadre plus que jamais en harmonie avec l’événement.

L’accès à Spa Six Hoursvous en coûtera 35 euros pour l’ensemble du week-end en prévente (45 euros sur place), 20 euros pour les journées de vendredi et dimanche (25 euros sur place) et 30 euros (35 euros sur place) pour la seule journée du samedi, riche de la course des Spa Six Hours Endurance

Amateurs et passionnés d’anciennes, il ne vous reste plus qu’à réserver votre week-end de la mi-septembre - voire les jours qui précèdent - afin de prendre la direction du plus beau circuit du monde. Infos : www.spasixhours.com